BAKING · cake · pudding

Pear and Ginger Pudding

When the nights are drawing in and it’s cold ,dark and damp outside I always turn to comfort food. What better way to keep warm than with a lovely pudding with lots of custard. My husband Marcus has just picked the last of the pears from our garden, so now I have another glut of fruit waiting patiently to be turned into something wonderful. I found a recipe online for pear cake but it was made using butter. Now don’t get me wrong I love butter as much as the next girl ,but I do try to keep the saturated fat levels in our diet to a reasonably low-level if I can. You will gather if you follow my blog that I do make a lot of my cakes using vegetable oil as opposed to butter or margarine, I find this makes for very moist cakes which keep well. So after a few tweaks and alterations this is my pear and ginger pudding recipe       First line deep baking tray(12 inches x 9 inches) with baking parchment Preheat your oven to gas 3/ 160c What you need 350g vegetable oil 2 teaspoons baking powder 200g granulated sugar 100g crystalized ginger chopped 200g light brown sugar 350g peeled, cored and chopped pears 4 eggs beaten 1 teaspoon vanilla  extract 400g S.R. flour What you do Whisk together the eggs, oil, and sugars Stir in the flour and baking powder Stir in the vanilla Finally mix in the chopped ginger and pears Pour into the lined tray and spread evenly Bake for approx. 1 hour or until a skewer in the centre comes out clean Serve warm with custard, or cool and eat when you need a treat.     ENJOY !  

Leave a Reply

